U.S. Marine Corps Employee Reviews

Found 23,333 reviews matching the search See all 24,470 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
IT Specialists Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, CAAugust 20, 2019
Great place to work. If you want tt work for the government, then I suggest that you apply for a job at MCB Pendleton. The people are wonderful and the weather is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and fun place to work
Manager (Former Employee) –  Fort Dix, NJAugust 20, 2019
The Marine Corps offers a challenging and fun place to work. The experience and training you receive helps you grow in many aspects of life and the brotherhood last a lifetime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly active
United States Marine (Current Employee) –  Cherry Point, NCAugust 20, 2019
Don’t join unless you are open minded on every aspect of your life. Not for the faint of heart. You must possess the ability to come to work everyday ready to perform any and all demonstrated infringement of you and some that aren’t. Problem solving is largely required. Personal confidence is key.
Pros
No one cares
Cons
No one cares
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life Changing Experience
Aircraft Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Camp Pendleton, CAAugust 20, 2019
I cannot put into words what kind of experiences I have had becoming a Marine and joining the Marine Corps. The skills you will learn while you are in are second to none.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usmc
Director of Environmental Programs (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 20, 2019
Great place to work after high school or graduation from collage. One of the last major public institutions to still offer a solid retirement pension as a career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not for everyone
Jet Engine Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Havelock, NCAugust 19, 2019
Its awesome if you are looking to have a guaranteed job and health benefits. Plenty of room for self improvement and advancement. Not for those who don't work well with stress.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Put out and you shall receive
instructor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 19, 2019
Show initiative, motivation and leadership. You do this and other will emulate and follow you. Leadership will depend on you. Stay driven and motivated. This was the biggest and best moment of my life where I was able to learn about myself and what I was capable of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding, competitive.
Flight safety equipment technician (Current Employee) –  Havelock, NCAugust 19, 2019
Very demanding job. Constantly moving from place to place. Very competitive. Personally it’s not my cup of tea. Budget for the marine corps is very low there for living areas and equipment are sub par at best.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Sub par living conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I blew stuff up
Scout Observer (Former Employee) –  Camp Lejeune, NCAugust 19, 2019
The military allowed me to grow and gain experience in a way i believe everyone should! yes it was hard but it was worth it! was medically retired and they're still taking care of me.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
United States Marine Corp
Warehouse Clerk (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZAugust 19, 2019
Maintaining physical fitness. Conducting your job in the best professional manner. I grew as a person while serving my time in the Marine Corp and learned more about myself in time. I have enjoyed the comradery and family dynamic that the people in the Corp has.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Certain management was terrible
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Twentynine Palms Base, CAAugust 19, 2019
Depends on who you work for and what you’re doing. Certain management was amazing during one of the jobs I worked there others not so much. Just depends on your outlook on working for them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Fuel System Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CAAugust 18, 2019
Awesome experience. I would tell anyone who is looking for a challenge and wanting to see the world to join this elite club! You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked as Combat Photographer
Combat Photographer (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOAugust 18, 2019
Over the past 5 years, worked as a combat photographer for the United States Marine Corps. Was in charge of multiple Marines up to 15 at a time. And managed multiple electronic databases and was the senior Marine in my shop for over a year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard yet rewarding work
Ammunition Technician (Former Employee) –  Camp Lejeune, NCAugust 18, 2019
It was a fun time building brotherhood and gaining amazing life and work experiences. Highly recommend to those looking to find a life path. Bad pay, but good benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A unique and exciting opportunity
Mortarman (Former Employee) –  Camp Lejeune, NCAugust 18, 2019
My time in the Marine Corps was a very exciting and diverse experience. I still fully recomend it to anyone interested even though I am not Re-enlisting. It is a perfect place for personal and professional development. It exposes you to a variety of experiences and skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging but Productive
Corporal of Marines (Former Employee) –  Camp Pendleton, CAAugust 17, 2019
Competitive but very supportive in building skills and mental health. It has it's up's and down's but so does almost every job out there. There's never a dull moment and no unit is the same.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Human Resources & Career Counselor (Former Employee) –  Multiple locationsAugust 17, 2019
Great experiences and people. Benefits are fantastic. I would go back. The organization is not for everyone but it has great benefits for people with families.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Must have strong work ethic
INSTRUCTOR/OFFICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Many locationsAugust 17, 2019
As a United States Marine, your job is never over. You are a Marine 24/7 and Once a Marine Always a Marine. Being a Marine isn't for the weak-minded. If you have other options than joining the Marine Corps, then it isn't for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright I guess if you have your type of job
Supply and Logistics supervisor (Former Employee) –  Cherry Point, NCAugust 17, 2019
Make sure you get the MOs that you request and don't be scared to play hardball with the recruiter your career comes first. Work hard do what you're told
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult, challenging, worth while work experience.
Low Altitude Air Defense Gunner (Former Employee) –  Camp Pendleton, CAAugust 17, 2019
Becoming a United States Marine is one of the most fulfilling things anyone can do, but choosing to stick around in the poorly managed sub-sections throughout the organization is not a choice many make.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at U.S. Marine Corps. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 24,470 reviews
515.2K
46.3K
32.3K
2410
1284

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.4Compensation/Benefits
4.5Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
4.4Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP40%
In the Top 40% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at U.S. Marine Corps.

Powered by Comparably