State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Employee Reviews

Found 10,367 reviews matching the search See all 10,513 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Paramount, CAOctober 12, 2019
State Farm is a great company to work for with a great deal of portential growth. It is important to understand the every office has it’s own agent and it’s own rules
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Bloomington, ILOctober 11, 2019
Great place to work and you get to meet a variety of different people. I love the policy of “dress for your day”. I was previously in the call center for sales, but have since moved on to a full time position. I was not a fan of sales, but I’m loving where I’m at now in the company! Great benefits and PTO is very nice. My current supervisor is awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall working at State Farm was a positive experience
Customer Care Center Inbound Sales Agent (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 11, 2019
Working at State Farm was a positive experience. The company culture was business casual with an emphasis on the customer experience. Working part time at night was a challenge. As an employee with an advanced degree I dont feel I was encouraged to apply for positions that matched my education.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience to learn about insurance
Claims Associate (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 11, 2019
I learned how an insurance company works. The culture is quiet and very corporate feeling. Very strict metrics to meet. Health insurance cost a lot I spend about 400 dollars a month. I am looking for a different atmosphere to work in that's a little more relaxed.
Pros
Work schedule
Cons
Healthcare, atmosphere, and strict metrics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not easy to work for
Admin Asst (Former Employee) –  Caro, MIOctober 11, 2019
Each location is independently owned, so based on each Owner the experience could be different. The overall State Farm Corporation makes the job itself very difficult, they are always changing rules without notice to the Staff and it is hard to help customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a great Company to work for.
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZOctober 10, 2019
It’s a great company to work for. The work loads are high, but they do try to have a work life balance. Managers are approachable and they work hard to help you succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Both good and bad
Claims Specialist (Current Employee) –  DuPont, WAOctober 10, 2019
Co-workers are gold here, great people, great benefits, and a good culture. My only issue was my manager. People don't leave their jobs, they leave their managers. If I didn't feel like I would never be able to move forward with the company due to his lack of confidence in my abilities, I would not be looking for work elsewhere. It is not the job I am leaving. Mangers - employees are a direct example of the time you spend leading them, if they are failing, look at what you are not doing to help them grow and learn. If you have done nothing to help them, they will fail! Bringing them down will only hinder their growth. I am begging you - please read this and understand. I did not want to leave my job.. I was simply shown there was no other way.
Pros
Great company, great co-workers, training and some great leaders!
Cons
Some bad managers, luck of the draw.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Roanoke, VAOctober 10, 2019
In a typical workday, I had many tasks I had to complete, in which I usually did. Unfortunately, the management was not professional or polite. There were many times that I had to explain why I felt this way and it was never resolved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training is extremely inadequate for the role.
Claims Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Folsom, CAOctober 10, 2019
Unless you consider watching videos for 8 hrs a day for 2 months adequate training I would say it is poor at best. Support from management was lacking and fell upon deaf ears. Once you complete training you are put right into production and it is a recipe for failure. Policy language is also unclear and the poor insured's suffer because of it. I would go so far as to say the management has now enacted what can only be perceived as unethical and deceptive practices. There is a reason why over 90% of in-house employees are new. I can only reference this company as like the Titanic...it is sinking quickly!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Insurance agent (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 10, 2019
Nothing to write about this company. Not applicable. Great job for those looking for opportunity. The drive for sales is number one, so be aware what you're getting into.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great company
Multi-Line Insurance Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCOctober 10, 2019
Overall great company. Left to advance my career. Working for individual agent. Salary plus commission. Sometimes making cold calls and AOT of follow-up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Statefarm Call Center
Claims Agent (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAOctober 10, 2019
Statefarm was amazing. The training period was so much fun and then getting to work on the floor was amazing as well. They treat you well and want you to succeed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an agent office location
Insurance Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 10, 2019
Commission job, some hourly pay (minimal).
Location was not too busy and worked along two sales employees who took most of commissions. But the Illinois insurance license test was the main reason I didn't continue with that employer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
To be clear, i worked for an agent, not at the corporate headquarters. Since each agent runs their own office their own way, with their own pay scale and benefits package, this may not be very helpful to most. The best thing I can say about working for any agent is that candidates should interview the agent as much as the agent would interview the candidate in order to ensure a good fit. Make sure that the agent is offering what you are seeking. In my case it was a very small office and the agent did not offer health, vision, retirement etc. believing that the commission you earn would more than pay for those benefits on your own. However, I believe that State Farm is a great company to get behind . Customer service would be key in any role you take at an agent's office.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
Insurance Agent (Former Employee) –  Wimberley, TXOctober 10, 2019
Stressful at times to hit numbers but nice people to work with. I wanted to move around more and not behind a desk, I like fast past environments. I love busy work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Culture
Insurance Producer (Current Employee) –  Cleveland, TNOctober 9, 2019
When you are looking for a position within the State Farm make sure you always research your agents and how long they have been in business for. Each agent runs their office different so each environment is completely different.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Elementary school like
Auto Property Claims Specialist Complex (Former Employee) –  Charlottesville, VAOctober 9, 2019
Salary $50K, stand in line to clock in- micromanaging to the minute. Where have you ever heard of an employer refusing to allow you to work off the clock to learn to do your job better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Independent Adjuster (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXOctober 9, 2019
I don't have State Farm Auto Insurance. I am pretty sure the company is great. I only worked in the claims department for Workers Compensation, Auto and Property
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better than Most
Customer Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Richardson, TXOctober 8, 2019
I had the absolute GREATEST supervisor on earth. (Washington) Intelligent Funny Happy Relaxed Peaceful.... He made the job worth coming in to work. And the customers were great.
Pros
Blessed to have a great manager
Cons
Other managers and wow upper management.. Poor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t get comfortable!
Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 8, 2019
Very corporate environment if you don’t kiss up to the right people then you won’t advance. If you make the wrong person upset or challenge the rules you will be targeted and fired. Don’t get comfortable you are disposable. Use everything they offer then get a better job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 10,513 reviews
53.8K
42.9K
32.2K
2856
1733

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company.

Powered by Comparably