Kohl's Employee Reviews

Found 18,712 reviews matching the search See all 18,757 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Attentive and engaging staff with a sense of quality poise.
Customer service / Bopus packaging (Former Employee) –  Tustin, CAAugust 20, 2019
I learned from Kolh's that the amount of preparation a store does is a reflections to their quality service. I realized when working there that management and employees must successfully combine their observation and active efforts to maintain a level of presentation in order to upkeep a competitive yet thoughtful environment. Apart from wonderful discounts the staff there is polite and genuinely interested in upkeeping both customers and workers pleased. Labor is as intense as anywhere else like it but when completed, the joy of completion is a boost of satisfaction throughout your day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place
Store associate (Former Employee) –  Deptford, NJAugust 20, 2019
Nice place but felt i was underpaid . Also i barely was getting hours . I barely called out and couldnt get a raise. Management was nice but did nothing about my concerns
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting place to work with terrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Neenah, WIAugust 20, 2019
If you are a clean freak, like I am, cleaning dirty dressing rooms will be your worst nightmare. Overall, I think that someone could enjoy working there if you do not mind picking up after people, but that is not my favorite thing to do. The management also was not good with scheduling and would call last minute to see if I could fill in. Then they would be upset with me when I could not work at a time where I was not even scheduled to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful place to work, no room for growth
Cashier (Former Employee) –  East Setauket, NYAugust 20, 2019
This is a very stressful job, no room for mistakes. management is rude and often not willing to help with issues, even ones that require a manager. you are forced to stay after your scheduled time if another department is not done restocking, even if your department is done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Starter Job
Customer Service and Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Ocala, FLAugust 20, 2019
It is retail. However, it is a great starter job. Management works very hard to create a "family" environment, which is difficult to do when turnover is so high. You're able to set your availability to pretty much whatever you want. If you have more open availability, you're probably outlast many others and get the opportunity to move up.
Kohl's has very high ethical standards, so if you have to work retail, I would aim there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sucks... Too much work. Not worth it.
Sales associate (Former Employee) –  Greendale, WIAugust 20, 2019
They hired me as a sales associate, and after 3 months of working, they tried to turn me into a janitor. I guess cause i was hispanic and they thought to stereotype me... Who knows. Not cool.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Sales Associate, Customer Service, other durties (Former Employee) –  Clarksville, TNAugust 19, 2019
Great place to work! Kohls really looks out for their employees and takes good care of them and they do promote from within. This is probably my favorite job of all time!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Retail
Floor associate (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COAugust 19, 2019
A fun and inviting place to work that taught me many things about working in the retail world. I learned how to pack online orders, operate point of sale, and fold clothes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
See below
SENIOR CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Menomonee Falls, WIAugust 19, 2019
Upper management tends to look the other way when it comes time for reviews. Score cards are more of a scare tactic than a useful tool. Plus the score card doesn’t reflect the employees real potential and contributions to Kohl’s. It was always a detriment as an employee you felt as it was an obstacle instead of a positive. It has the potential to create a negative attitude/ motivation !!!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there was great
Retail associate (Former Employee) –  Olean, NYAugust 19, 2019
Every job has its challenges, but overall a good place to work. There were the nasty customers and some drama between coworkers, but if you don’t let that bother you it is a good place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced Job with Chaotic Scheduling, Minimal Pay, and Limited Advancement
Department Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Matthews, NCAugust 19, 2019
My main issues I had while working at Kohl's was the extreme lack of consistency in scheduling. I would work 5:30am-2pm one day and then 2 days later be on an overnight shift. This type of shift happened quite often and took a real toll on the employees physically and mentally. Another issue I had was that you were only supposed to wear dress shoes which was very impractical being up on your feet all day on that hard floor. The opportunity to advance to Department Supervisor came quickly, however once you get there, do not expect to advance any further. They also ripped off a couple of people as far as pay and promotions went.
I did enjoy the people that worked there and the group activities that took place. I will say that the management team often joined in unloading the supply trucks and helping with work in the store. They also tried to keep up morale by offering meals on special occasions, having contests, and implementing themed work days where the employees would dress up. The thing I most enjoyed about working here was the Kohl's Cares program. Volunteering with the other employees was a great way to make friends, help out the community, and advance in the work place. A lot of the events they were partnered with were actually pretty cool.
Overall this job is a "means to an end" kind of job not a career choice. It is a great starting point for people just joining the workforce.
Pros
Kohl's Cares Program and Team building activities
Cons
Minimal Pay, Chaotic Schedule, and Limited Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work at if you have friends on the floor.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Morton, PAAugust 19, 2019
As a student with an ever-changing schedule, it was difficult to constantly update my superior on my new schedule and getting shifts that worked with me at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed, Lack of Training, Abusive Management, Low Pay to Workload
Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  Smyrna, TNAugust 19, 2019
I had a VERY frustrating experience with Kohl's for several reasons.

1) At my interview, I expressed that I had a paid (no refund) vacation later in the year that I would need time off for. I was told that I would be able to get this time off no problem. Come closer to said dates, I was denied my time off and told to "find people to cover my shifts." After frustratingly dealing with this, I had gotten all of my shifts covered with our shift change forms. My last day of work before said vacation (and apparently my last day ever at Kohl's) I was told all of my shift coverages were declined. I did my best with what little time I had and got a few folks to cover some of the shifts, but I was unable to get them all covered. I called the next morning to speak to the store manager and I was told "I have a store to run, it's not my job to find people to cover your scheduled shifts" and was hung up on (this was after I explained I had done everything I could do)

2) I had very little training, most of what I learned on the job was from other coworkers at the moment I needed the information. I felt very underequipped to give the "customer hospitality" that Kohl's speaks so highly of.


3) Management is abusive. There were several incidents where I was screamed at over our radio system for struggling/needing help with things for a position I was very under trained for. I was told more often than not, no matter how hard I worked, that I was "not working" because every single thing "was never done where I was assigned" (mind you, this location is extremely busy, and assigning ONE
  more... person to Women's, Juniors, and Men's Department when there's a big sale happening is impossible (and the same can be said with the online order system when there are large sales)


4) The pay to the workload is horrible. More often than not the store is understaffed due to call outs, quits, etc. There was also a comment from the store manager about "running the bare minimum of employees to get through the day" because "we have to profit"... but this was often at the expensive of the employees (and the store itself, more often than not we would have to clock out with the store still looking like a disaster)


5) The floor staff have a hard time being happy due to the way they are treated. A lot of us tried to make the best of it, but it is hard when management treats you horribly, and no matter how hard you work, they tell you that you are not doing enough.


6) If you are scheduled for a register shift and you don't get credit applications (charge cards for the company), You're basically told you aren't trying, and that you're causing the store to be below quota. (Newsflash, NOT EVERYONE WANTS A CREDIT CARD TO A DEPARTMENT STORE!)


- My favorite thing about this job was some of my coworkers, I didn't enjoy much else.
  less
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with good discounts.
Operations Associate (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 19, 2019
I worked early shifts so it was a bit exhausting, but it was a good place to work regardless. I was able to apply myself and got some good deals on clothing with the associate's discount.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail in general is not ideal for a balanced job/family balance
Omni Lead (Current Employee) –  Palmdale, CAAugust 19, 2019
Fulfilling online orders
Back stocking
Pulling merchandise
Fulfilling the sales floor
Assist face to face customers
Not enough time or employees scheduled for work expected to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was great
Point of Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAAugust 19, 2019
I was able to pay off my bills. I received a lot of experience. I enjoyed management. We were able to accommodate members with their wishes. A lot of good sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Forest Hill, MDAugust 19, 2019
kohl's is a straight-up average minimum-wage job. i work the sales floor and it's exactly what you'd expect, just putting clothes back on the racks. the people are overall great to work with, so that is a big plus for sure! raises are rare and we had to work understaffed on the floor for months so it can get stressful. this is a solid job for high school/college students and they're pretty good about working with your schedule and almost always approve requests off, as long as it's not a black-out date and you submit on time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s okay... but don’t stay for long
Part Time Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Silver Spring, MDAugust 19, 2019
The current management is half great and half terrible. The hours are super flexible, but I will say that if you get on management’s bad side, your hours will get cut. You’ll love the other employees you work around, but just keep your head low and stay out of trouble... you’ll be fine. There’s good employee discount events, and the only times you’ll actually have to work hard are when there are visits from corporate.
Pros
Free food sometimes... they work with your schedule
Cons
Disrespectful management... not really much room to branch out of assigned position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Balance
Customer Advocate II/Training Specialist (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 19, 2019
Profit driven, not work balance.Management okay but do not do a good job training,developing or supporting staff. The company focuses more on terminations verses retention or retaining good employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self-motivated and self-paced
Sales Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Stafford County, VAAugust 19, 2019
Overall, met great people as coworkers and customers.
If management had a problem with someone, they would take hours away from the employees. Sometimes only giving them 5 hrs a week until the employee talked about quitting. Most employees were friendly and helped each other out but most floor associates were swamped due to the management not wanting to give employees more time.
Pros
Co-workers were friendly, team orientated.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kohl's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 18,757 reviews
56K
45.8K
34.3K
21.5K
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score
TOP25%
In the Top 25% of similar size companies

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Kohl's.

Powered by Comparably