Dollar General Employee Reviews

Found 23,220 reviews matching the search See all 23,250 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away!
General Warehouse Associate (Current Employee) –  Alachua, FLAugust 20, 2019
Very poor management! They dont care about their employees. Most of the supervisors are not knowledgeable. Overworked every day. Pay not good. Do not recomend working here!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace yet somewhat rewarding.
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Man, WVAugust 20, 2019
Is a great and growing company to work for. It is very fast paced and at times stressful during season changes with as much product is pushed on a store with minimum labor hours to use. However, once you have hired and trained a good crew with common goals, work flow cycle becomes like clockwork. I have learned many new skills since becoming the store manager such as inventory control, hiring/terminating, in store marketing, scheduling, labor budgeting, planning, and many others. The store manager HAS to be persistent with good work ethic and planning or you can expect to work over 50 hours a week as a salary employee. Everything about being a store manager for Dollar General is something I truly have become to enjoy, however its the pay that just doesn't equate to the amount of work you have to do. This is a hands on store manager type job so you can expect to not only be the store manager but everything else as well. If you're able to multitask, have high energy, and leadership qualities this is a job that will challenge you.
Pros
career growth, work-life balance
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dg
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSAugust 20, 2019
it was a good place to work at first but after while all the responsibility that should be the store managers falls onto the Asst Managers shoulders and you don't get recognized for the things you do or the time you have to give up being with your family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever to work
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Huntsville, ALAugust 20, 2019
Working for this company is extremely difficult and stressful. The benefits and compensation for this company is not worth the people and the workload that you have to deal with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dollar general
Asst. Manager (Former Employee) –  38th College AveAugust 20, 2019
It was my first time doing retail and become a manager I'd enjoyed the environment the customers it was also a challenging work place I also got a chance to learn how to run company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for!
District Manager (Current Employee) –  Superior, WIAugust 20, 2019
An awesome opportunity for advancement and really good benefits plus time off. They have a great culture within the company and strive for better year after year
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a Sales Driven Culture. Poor culture towards its field teams.
Regional Director of Stores (Current Employee) –  Goodlettsville, TNAugust 20, 2019
Focus is not on Customers and Employees. Micromanagement everywhere. Nobody allowed to make any decisions. Even the most basic. Individuals are forced to work two levels below their positions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Reidsville, GAAugust 20, 2019
I love this job because manager and assistant manager were nice and its a challenge. I learned to multitask within this job. I would recommend it to family and friends.
Pros
discounts
Cons
challenges
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First retail job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Panama City, FLAugust 20, 2019
For my first retail job it truly was the best the customers love me I opened and closed depending upon the shift and I just loved my managers taylor and becca !!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s an okay job
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Kalkaska, MIAugust 20, 2019
If you’re looking for a part time job then it’s a great place to work. It’s mostly a minimum wage job unless you are a manager/ key holder. Management for the most part is pretty great. Customers are the worst part of the job.
Pros
Management, coworkers, easy to request days off
Cons
Minimum wage, customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This a very big company and leaves employees feeling helpless
Cashier and Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Eufaula, OKAugust 20, 2019
I would not recommend this company as the policies and management does not uphold to what you are taught. There isn't any security felt here and for the job it's highly underpaid.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Corinth, MSAugust 20, 2019
I enjoyed working there and the customers were great. My manager was really nice and worked with you on schedule changes. My only problem was the heat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the best
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 20, 2019
The craziest place i've worked at, don't get paid much and they don't really care for your safety always changing management. Will hire just about anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Negative
Assistant Manager/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Pendleton, KYAugust 20, 2019
Takes advantage of you, worked 11,12,13 days straight and still wouldn't get 40 hours. Expected too much work done with no hours to give employees. No appreciation for job well done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Blairstown, NJAugust 20, 2019
I personally like working at Dollar General. It’s a good environment to work in, when you have questions people never hesitate on helping you, and everyone on the staff is very nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really like it there
Cashier/Stocker (Former Employee) –  Detroit, MIAugust 19, 2019
I think if you really want to move up. Learn how to do everything there is at Dollar General. The job can be really laid back. But it up to how much efforts you put into your work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They expect way to much from their workers, yet pay so little
FT Lead (Former Employee) –  164th Ave and Jomax, Surprise, AzAugust 19, 2019
I personally think Dollar General is not a good company to be employed with! Like I stated above, they literally expect so much out of everyone, yet their pay is a joke! But the worst thing about them.. is the hours they give to their employees. I mean I literally had multiple co-workers who for the longest time, we're only getting 4 hours a week. It's ridiculous, who can really live on that?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool job
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLAugust 19, 2019
Dollar general is a cool job to work for if you want quick money weekly the work is not easy you move around alot and you have to milti task but all in all it's a good job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mgr. Easy to get along with
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Warner Robins, GAAugust 19, 2019
While General Mgr. Is great
Assistant Mgr. Had his issues ie: up tight more of a dictator not a team oriented individual. Shame that store was not kept neat and organized. Unfortunately there were always product on floor not very eye appealing. Could not fix problem, showing initiative, as l was limited to an assigned area that I could not cross.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Jones, OKAugust 19, 2019
Overall good experience for a young person not having too many financial responsibilities. Pay is not adequate for demands of the job. Hours are very good for school age individuals
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dollar General. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 23,250 reviews
54.9K
45.1K
36.4K
23.2K
13.7K

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
2.6Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.0Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Dollar General.

Powered by Comparably