Applebee's Employee Reviews

Found 12,984 reviews matching the search See all 13,466 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
Applebee's Server (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNOctober 12, 2019
Greet customers, have them seated to wherever they were comfortable, asked what they needed and what I could do to help them, provided excellent service
Pros
Getting to meet new people, and learning more on what I could do to make sure they have the best experience
Cons
Unhappy customers from a server that was not me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment
Server/Prep (Former Employee) –  Lufkin, TXOctober 12, 2019
Greet and serve all customers, take orders, prep food, submit orders into computer, check on customers orders and customer satisfaction. Ensure customers don’t get to much alcohol.
Pros
Half off lunch
Cons
Never know when you get off work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company to work for
Waitress/ Hostess (Former Employee) –  Waycross, GAOctober 12, 2019
This is one of the worst companies I have ever worked for in my life. They make promises that you will move up in the company and then never follow through with it. They allow employees to be act wreckless on a regular basis and they do not perform any efficient managerial duties properly. Gratuity is not included when serving big parties, therefore you end up tipping out with your own tips you made if they do not tip the amount they should shown on the bottom of the bill, which happens 90% of the time. One of the most unprofessional places I have ever worked for in my life.
Pros
Food that is barely discounted
Cons
Everything about this place other than some fellow co workers, the roaches everywhere, cooks not wearing hairnets, unsafe work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Opportunity for a first job
Servers Assistant (Former Employee) –  Davison, MIOctober 12, 2019
This job is a great option if you are a young person working for play money or even just a college student trying to pay off some debut. The food industry is very demanding, and if that works for you then I'm happy for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applebees
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Pueblo, COOctober 11, 2019
Not necessarily a bad place to work, sometimes dish gets way too busy and it's not worth what they are paying but management is pretty cool and laid back as long as you do your job. When I worked closing shifts of about 9 hours I would only get one break and when I did go to break no one would help keep my spot up so when I returned I would be slammed it literally happened everytime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One write up and fired
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMOctober 11, 2019
Wrote wrong schedule down because two of the weeks schedules were side by side thought I had off came back the next day telling my boss let's do some work! And he tells me what do u mean ur terminated u didn't come yesterday ,showed him the schedule that was up and he said it was my fault for getting it confused
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Kitchen manager (Current Employee) –  Evans, GAOctober 11, 2019
I loved my job, I just moved and had to leave. Worked with great people. There was plenty of opportunities to move forward in the company. The menu is always changing. They have a great open door policy.
Pros
Something new all the time fast pace
Cons
Never had the same schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place taught me alot in life. I love customer service and its super important to me because it makes the people happy. If people left with a smil
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKOctober 11, 2019
This place taught me alot in life. I love customer service and its super important to me because it makes the people happy. If people left with a smile and came back then i knew i did my job correctly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced environment
Bartender (Current Employee) –  Meridian, MSOctober 11, 2019
Good opportunity to make some fast money
Great place to meet great people
A good job for young adults to gain people skills and good work ethics
Great place to work if you like to keep busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Server (Current Employee) –  Seymour, INOctober 11, 2019
Great with schedule. Can get stressful. Easy people to work with. Very fast paced. Training is simple and explanatory. Hands on training with experts. Lot of customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Server (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, GAOctober 11, 2019
I liked working at Applebees, the crew was great and welcoming, good management decent pay not always great tips but that’s serving and very understanding with life when it comes to needing a day off for something important good with flexible hours.
Pros
Friendly coworkers and managers and flexiible hours
Cons
Money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diverse
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Wauwatosa, WIOctober 10, 2019
I worked at Applebee's for 4 years. I worked my way up through the restaurant. During my time employed, I have seen multiple races not only dine in but also work at the establishment also. It was a very diverse place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Suffer for good work ethic.
Host/Server (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALOctober 10, 2019
Management needs work. One will tell you to do something the other told you not to do. One is so worried about comps and voids being on his card but he wont get his self or his kitchen together. I payed for multiple 12 minute lunches that came out late because he refused to take them off the ticket even though he KNEW they came out late!

Cooks don't read orders on screen correctly and then get mad and yell at you when you correct them.

Servers only actually want to work when they desperately need money and will cry to the managers until the managers themselves finally cave and let the server, who was supposed to stay later, leave. Leaving the others, who were already scheduled to leave early, to stay late or close.

When I was working as a host servers would constantly cry about getting sat (God help you if you even THOUGHT about sitting them with a larger party), and would swear up and down that they were getting double sat even though they weren't watching me do my job.

Only reason for more than one star is because there were a few rare times where I could laugh with these people.
Pros
Discounts, Small chance you'll make a friend or two
Cons
Bad pay, Everything else
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place
Applebee's Hostess (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GAOctober 10, 2019
I'm so deeply in love with applebees and wish i had never left it just a fun and happy place and everyone that worked there feels like family even though its stressful and people argue but we all come together and work as a team and the fun and funny moments are the best while still doing our job and getting it done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good College Student Job
Host (Former Employee) –  Warrensburg, MOOctober 10, 2019
It's a good job if you're a college student who's trying to make some extra money. Tips are terrible, and you have to split it with the rest of the staff in front of house.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job
Server (Former Employee) –  Columbus, MSOctober 10, 2019
The job is easy to learn as a server. I learned my tables and how to serve fast. The part that is complicated is learning the machine that puts in the orders.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Carside To-Go Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boynton Beach, FLOctober 10, 2019
Fun place to work and a good way to learn customer service and sales but with the salary it's recommended to have a second job to cover living expenses.
Pros
family friendly atmosphere and flexible schedule
Cons
minimum wage and slow summer months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its here
Mid cook (Former Employee) –  Papillion, NEOctober 10, 2019
Applebees is a fast paced and excellent working environment, it has a nice pay as well, as flexible hours and more importantly good management. Become a leader join applebees
Pros
Money
Cons
Houra
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Server host (Former Employee) –  Gaffney, SCOctober 10, 2019
Great service can lift average food, but great food can never make up for inept service. The best floor staff exhibit a passion for what they do and their their aim for every single customer to leave happy.
Pros
Free smoke breaks
Cons
No bathroom breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent company
MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GAOctober 10, 2019
Not a bad company to work for. Decent hours and fair compensation. Not a job for lazy people though. Some shifts can be pretty bad and some of the customers are horrible.
Pros
free management lunches
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Applebee's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 13,466 reviews
53.7K
43.9K
33.5K
21.3K
11.1K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Diversity score

Comparably
Diversity Score

The Comparably Diversity Score tracks how positively diverse employees rate their experience at Applebee's.

Powered by Comparably